1	a	2	1

Warren R. Austin [Republican]	67,146	51.0%
Fred C. Martin [Democratic]	63,632	48.4%
Charles R. Butler [Socialist]	771	0.6%
Scattering	3	0.0%
Total votes cast	131,552	100.0%

1938

Ernest W. Gibson, Sr. [Republican]	73,990	65.7%
John Mcgrath [Democratic]	38,673	34.3%
Total votes cast	112,663	100.0%

1940

Warren R. Austin [Republican]	93,283	66.4%
Ona S. Searles [Democratic]	47,101	33.6%
Total votes cast	140,384	100.0%

1940 (November 5, 1940, Special Election)⁴

George D. Aiken [Republican]	87,150	61.6%
Herbert B. Comings [Democratic]	54,263	38.4%
Total votes cast	141,413	100.0%

⁴ Ernest W. Gibson, Sr. died June 20, 1940; his son, Ernest, Jr. was appointed June 24, 1940, and served until January 8, 1941.

1946

George D. Aiken [Republican]	81,094	65.8%
Harry W. Witters [Democratic]	42,136	34.2%
Total votes cast	123,230	100.0%

1946

Ralph E. Flanders [Republican] ⁵	54,729	74.6%
Charles P. Mcdevitt [Democratic]	18,594	25.4%
Total votes cast	73,323	100.0%

⁵ Austin resigned August 2, 1946 to accept appointment as the first chief of the United States delegation to the United Nations; Flanders was appointed November 1, 1946, to complete the unexpired term.

1950		
George D. Aiken [Republican]	69,543	78.0%
James E. Bigelow [Democratic]	19,608	22.0%
Total votes cast	89,151	100.0%
	,	
1952		
Ralph E. Flanders [Republican]	111,406	72.3%
Allan R. Johnston [Democratic]	42,630	27.7%
Scattering	16	0.02%
Total votes cast	154,052	100.0%
1956		
George D. Aiken [Republican]	103,101	66.4%
Bernard G. O'Shea [Democratic]	52,184	33.6%
Scattering	4	0.0%
Total votes cast	155,289	100.0%
1958		
Winston L. Prouty [Republican]	64,900	52.2%
Frederick J. Fayette [Democratic]	59,536	47.8%
Scattering	6	0.0%
Total votes cast	124,442	100.0%
1962		
George D. Aiken [Republican]	81,241	66.8%
W. Robert Johnson [Democratic]	40,134	33.0%
Scattering	196	0.2%
Total votes cast	121,571	100.0%
1964		
Winston L. Prouty [Republican]	83,302	50.7%
Winston L. Prouty [Independent]	4,516	2.7%
Winston L. Prouty [no party]	61	0.0%

76,457

164,350

14

46.5%

0.0%

100.0%

Frederick J. Fayette [Democratic]

Scattering

Total votes cast

1	\cap	c	О
1	.9	O	O

George D. Aiken [Republican]	94,738	60.2%
George D. Aiken [Democratic]	62,416	39.7%
George D. Aiken [no party]	43	0.0%
Scattering	178	0.1%
Total votes cast	157,375	100.0%

1970

Winston L. Prouty [Republican]	91,198	58.9%
Philip H. Hoff [Democratic]	62,271	40.2%
William H. Meyer [Liberty Union]	1,416	0.9%
Scattering	14	0.0%
Total votes cast	154,899	100.0%

1972 (January 7, 1972, Special Election) ⁶

Robert T. Stafford [Republican]	45,888	64.4%
Randolph T. Major [Democratic]	23,842	33.4%
Bernard Sanders [Liberty Union]	1,571	2.2%
Total votes cast	71,301	100.0%

⁶ Winston L. Prouty died September 10, 1971; Stafford was appointed September 16, 1971, and was subsequently elected.

1974

Patrick J. Leahy [Democratic]	70,629	49.5%
Richard W. Mallary [Republican]	66,223	49.5%
Bernard Sanders [Liberty Union]	5,901	4.1%
Scattering	19	0.0%
Total votes cast	142,772	103.1%

1976

Robert T. Stafford [Republican]	94,481	50.0%
Thomas P. Salmon [Democratic]	82,174	43.5%
Thomas P. Salmon [Independent Vermonters]	3,508	1.9%
Nancy Kaufman [Liberty Union]	8,801	4.7%
Scattering	96	0.1%
Total votes cast	189,060	100.0%

Patrick J. Leahy [Democratic]	104,089	49.8%
Stewart M. Ledbetter [Republican]	101,647	48.6%
Anthony N. Doria [Independent]	1,764	0.89
Earl S. Gardner [Liberty Union]	1,578	0.89
Scattering	110	0.19
Total votes cast	209,188	100.0%
1982		
Robert T. Stafford [Republican]	84,450	50.3%
James A. Guest [Democratic]	79,340	47.2%
Michael Edward Hackett [Independent]	1,463	0.9%
Ion Laskaris [Citizens]	897	0.5%
Bo Adlerbert [Libertarian]	892	0.5%
Scattering	961	0.69
Total votes cast	168,003	100.0%
1986 Patrick J. Leahy [Democratic]	124,123	63.2%
Dick Snelling [Republican]	67,798	34.5%
Anthony N. Doria [Conservative]	2,963	1.5%
Jerry Levy [Liberty Union]	1,583	0.89
Scattering	65	0.09
Total votes cast	196,532	100.0%
1988		
James M. Jeffords [Republican]	163,203	68.0%
Bill Gray [Democratic]	71,469	29.8%
Jerry Levy [Liberty Union]	2,506	1.0%
King Milne [Independent]	2,424	1.09
Scattering	509	0.29
Total votes cast	240,111	100.0%
1992		
±55=		

Patrick J. Leahy [Democratic]	154,762	54.2%
James H. Douglas [Republican]	123,854	43.3%
Jerry Levy [Liberty Union]	5,121	1.8%
Michael B. Godeck [Freedom for LaRouche]	1,780	0.6%
Scattering	222	0.1%
Total votes cast	285,739	100.0%

1	9	q	4

Total votes cast

1994		
James M. Jeffords [Republican]	106,505	50.3%
Jan Backus [Democratic]	85,868	40.6%
Gavin T. Mills [Indepdendent]	12,465	5.9%
Matthew S. Mulligan [Independent]	3,141	1.5%
Robert ("Doc Bob") Melamede [Vermont Grassroots]	1,416	0.7%
Jerry Levy [Liberty Union]	1,376	0.7%
Joseph Victor Pardo [Natural Law]	709	0.3%
Scattering	192	0.1%
Total votes cast	211,672	100.0%
1998		
Patrick J. Leahy [Democratic]	154,567	72.2%
Fred H. Tuttle [Republican]	48,051	22.4%
Hugh Douglas [Libertarian]	4,199	2.0%
Barry Nelson [Independent]	2,893	1.4%
Robert ("Doc Bob") Melamede [Vermont Grassroots]	2,459	1.1%
Jerry Levy [Liberty Union]	1,238	0.6%
Scattering	629	0.3%
Total votes cast	214,036	100.0%
2000 James M. Jeffords [Republican]	189,133	65.6%
Edward S. Flanagan [Democratic]	73,352	25.4%
Charles W. Russell [Constitution]	10,079	3.5%
Rick Hubbard [Independent]	5,366	1.9%
Billy Greer [Vermont Grassroots]	4,889	1.7%
Hugh Douglas [Libertarian]	3,843	1.3%
Jerry Levy [Liberty Union]	1,477	0.5%
Scattering	361	0.1%
Total votes cast	288,500	100.0%
2004	246.072	
Patrick J. Leahy [Democratic]	216,972	70.6%
Jack McMullen [Republican]	75,398	24.5%
Cris Ericson [Marijuana]	6,486	2.1%
Craig Hill [Vermont Green]	3,999	1.3%
Keith Stern [Independent]	3,300	1.1%
Ben Mitchel [Liberty Union]	070	
Scattering	879 174	0.3%

307,208

100.0%

1	\sim	\sim	_
/	u	u	n

Bernard Sanders [Independent]	171,638	65.4%
Rich Tarrant [Republican]	84,924	32.4%
Cris Ericson [Independent]	1,735	0.7%
Craig Hill [Vermont Green]	1,536	0.6%
Peter Moss [Anti-Bushist]	1,518	0.6%
Peter Diamondstone [Liberty Union]	801	0.3%
Scattering	267	0.1%
Total votes cast	262,419	100.0%

Patrick J. Leahy [Democratic]	151,281	64.3%
Len Britton [Republican]	72,699	30.9%
Daniel Freilich [Independent]	3,544	1.5%
Cris Ericson [U. S. Marijuana]	2,731	1.2%
Stephen J. Cain [Independent]	2,356	1.0%
Peter Diamondstone [Socialist]	1,433	0.6%
Johenry Nunes [Independent]	1,021	0.4%
Scattering	113	0.0%
Total votes cast	235,178	100.0%

Bernard Sanders [Independent]	207,848	71.0%
John MacGovern [Republican]	72,898	24.9%
Cris Ericson [U. S. Marijuana]	5,924	2.0%
Peter Diamondstone [Liberty Union]	2,511	0.9%
Pete Moss [Peace and Prosperity]	2,452	0.8%
Laurel LaFramboise [VoteKISS]	877	0.3%
Scattering	252	0.1%
Total votes cast	292,762	100.0%

Patrick Leahy [Democratic]	192,243	61.3%
Scott Milne [Republican]	103,637	33.0%
Cris Ericson [United States Marijuana]	9,156	2.9%
Jerry Trudell [Independent]	5,223	1.7%
Pete Diamondstone [Liberty Union]	3,241	1.0%
Scattering	309	0.1%
Total votes cast	313,809	100.0%